Many people ask the question: what is the difference between vegan and vegetarian? Not all vegetarians are vegan, but all vegans are vegetarians. The difference is one of lifestyle and consumption.
Vegans don’t eat any animal flesh, including red meat, fowl, or fish. In addition to not eating animal flesh, vegans also don’t eat or wear anything that is derived from an animal. Vegans don’t consume dairy, eggs, or honey, and don’t wear leather or fur. Vegans also don’t use cosmetics or household items that are made from animals/insects. Vegans don’t use products tested on animals.
In addition to vegan diets, there are three other types of vegetarian diets. There is the lacto-vegetarian diet. Lacto-vegetarians consume dairy products in addition to fruits and vegetables. Ovo-vegetarians don’t consume dairy, but will consume eggs along with fruits and vegetables. Finally, there is the lacto-ovo vegetarian. Lacto-ovo vegetarians consume dairy, eggs, fruits, and vegetables.
Any type of seafood, chicken, or red meat, is considered animal flesh.
Here is a partial list of ingredients that you may not know are animal derivatives.
• Gelatin: usually made from boiling skin, bones, tendons, and ligaments of animals, usually cows and pigs.
• Carmine/Natural #4: derived from cochineal scales
• Albumen: usually derived from egg whites
• Casein, Caseinate, Sodium Caseinate: milk protein that is found in dairy and non-dairy cheeses and creams
• Keratin: Protein from ground up animal parts including, feathers, hair, and hooves
• Lanolin: oil secreted from sheep’s wool
For a full comprehensive list of ingredients and their vegetable counterparts click here.